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Draft rules. Art and gameplay are still under development. 
 
Seize Your Fate ​will ​work with Age of Sail and Age of Expansion, and we have not encountered any 
conflicts with other Expansions or Exploits. You will need to be familiar with some of the concepts 
introduced in Age of Expansion such as Mobilization and Fortification.  
 
Setup  
 
After you’ve set up the game normally: 
 

1. Deal out a number of Fate cards face up near the board (one more than the number of 
players). 

2. Give each player a Monument token in their color.  
3. Once you have determined a start player, in ​reverse turn orde​r each player chooses their 

Nation tile. The Nation tiles indicate a ​unique starting setup​ for that Nation on the back. 
Each player follows those instructions, then lays their Nation card ​face up​ beside their 
player mat. Each player places ​discs​ from their supply on​ both circles​ of their Nation 
tile, and their ​Monument​ on the ​rectangle​. 

 
 
Using Your Powers 
 



Each nation has a series of unique abilities. You may only activate them in order from top to 
bottom, and with the following limitations: 

● The top ability may be activated any time in the first round or later. 
● The middle ability may be activated any time in the second round or later. 
● The bottom ability may be activated any time in the third round or later.  
● Unless otherwise indicated​, all abilities must obey the normal rules of the game. For example if 

an ability would let you Occupy in a region but that region is not yet open, you may not trigger or 
perform the ability. Some abilities indicate (with a padlock icon) that you ​may​ perform a 
normally-prohibited action in a closed region. 

 
The ​top​ ability for each nation shows you the symbol that triggers it. You can trigger the ability 
by activating a building or blue token matching the ability’s symbol. When you do so, ​do not 
perform the action normally associated with that symbol. Instead, perform the ability as 
displayed. Use ​the disc on the top ability’s circle​ to perform the ability. When you move the 
disc to do whatever the ability is, it will reveal an attribute symbol; ​increase the matching 
track. 

 

 
Example: You trigger The Netherlands’ top ability with a Draw action. You move the disc 
sitting on the ability into your Harbor as indicated. You have revealed a Wealth symbol, 
so your Wealth track increases by 1. 
 

The ​middle​ ability for each nation is a ​Mobilization​. This means that you may activate it 
immediately after performing another normal action (​via a building or blue token​). You may ​not 
mobilize the middle ability immediately after the top ability or after triggering an Exploit (​if you 
are playing with those​), as those are not normal actions.  Use ​the disc on the middle ability’s 
circle​ to perform the mobilization as displayed. ​(If it’s an attack, you ​will​ still need to spend a 
casualty from your harbor.​) When you move the disc to do whatever the ability is, it will reveal 
an attribute symbol; ​increase the matching track. 



 
Example: You decide to trigger The Netherlands’ middle ability as a mobilization 
attached to a normal action. You use the disc to either Colonize Africa or Ship to Africa 
as indicated. You have revealed an Influence symbol, so your Influence track increases 
by 1. 

 
The ​bottom​ ability for each nation is ​raising your Monument. ​You raise your Monument  by 
activating a building or blue token with an Occupy symbol. When you do so, ​do not​ perform the 
normal Occupation. Instead perform these 2 steps: 

1. Place your monument on top of your disc in a City of yours anywhere in the world. The 
monument counts as ​an extra presence in that area​, and that City ​may never be 
attacked​ for the rest of the game. 

2. Flip over your Nation tile. ​Lose the two revealed symbols​ that you gained when you 
moved the discs; reduce your tracks accordingly. Now that your Nation tile is flipped, 
you are eligible to seize a Fate card. ​(See below). 
 



 
Example: You trigger The Netherlands’ bottom ability with an Occupy action. You place 
your Monument on a City you control on the map, then you flip your Nation tile, ​losing 
the Wealth and Influence symbols found there from your tracks.​ (Raising 
monuments comes with a steep price!) Ignore the setup info on the back side; this tile is 
now a location for you to place a Fate card, should you manage to seize one! 

 
Seizing Your Fate 
 
Each Fate card shows you how much presence you must have in certain areas in order to seize 
it. (​Remember that your Monument counts as 1 presence… it’s often wise to place your 
Monument somewhere that will help you seize the Fate you want.​) 
 
If you have enough presence in the required regions, you may activate a ​Draw action​ (via a 
building or blue token) in order to seize your Fate. Take the Fate card and place it face up on 
your Nation card. You may claim only 1 Fate card during the game, so make sure it’s the one 
you want! 
 
Each Fate card describes some scoring opportunity that you may benefit from. Some of these 
can be very valuable if you steer your strategy in the right direction. With luck, you will seize the 
fate that your empire deserves! 



 
 

Example: The Master the Seven Seas Fate card requires you to have 4 presence in 
India and 4 presence in South America in order to draw it. If you seize this Fate, you will 
score 2 Glory for every region where you have presence but no Cities. 

 
Scoring 
 
The game scores are calculated as normal, but you should ​score your Fate cards first​, before 
any other scoring. 


